

EASTERN APICULTURAL SOCIETY

Erin MacGregor Forbes Chairman of the Board

188 Capisic Street
Portland, ME 04102
207-772-3380
Chairman@
Easternapiculture.com

Linda Allen Mizer

Vice Chairman 1279 Spring Street Extension Groton, NY 13073-9739 607-227-4449 ViceChairman@ Easternapiculture.com

Pam Fisher President

PO Box 5206 Chesapeake VA 23324 President@ Easternapiculture.com

Buddy May Vice-President

100 Birnam Court Greenville, SC 29615 864-297-1922 VicePresident@ Easternapiculture.com

Carol Cottrill Secretary

60 Rolling Hill Drive Naples ME 04055 (207)693-9226 Secretary@ Eastemapiculture.com

Jack Hildreth Treasurer

3 Summit Terrace North Yarmouth ME 04097 (207) 332-6742 Treasurer@ Eastemapiculture.com

Erin MacGregor-Forbes, Chairman

CALL FOR NOMINATIONS

TO: Entomology Departments, Apiculturists, and Apicultural Laboratories

FROM: Erin MacGregor-Forbes, Chairman of the Board, Eastern Apicultural Society of North America

DATE: *December* 15, 2017

RE: Call for Nominations for the EAS James I. Hambleton Memorial Award;

Roger A. Morse Outstanding Teaching/Extension Service/Regulatory Award;

and Student Apiculture Award.

The **James I. Hambleton Memorial Award** was established by the Eastern Apicultural Society of North America to recognize research excellence in apiculture.

The **EAS Student Apiculture Award** was established to recognize students studying apiculture at the undergraduate or graduate level in a recognized college or university in the United States or Canada. The Student Award includes a \$1,000 premium.

Each of the above award nominations must include a biographical sketch of the nominee, a list of his/her publications, specific identification of the research work on which the nomination is based, and an evaluation and appraisal of the accomplishment of the nominee, especially of work in the last five-year period for Hambleton Award nominees (or a shorter period for Student nominees). Two letters of recommendation supporting the nomination are also required.

The Roger A. Morse Outstanding Teaching/Extension Service/Regulatory Award Supported by Anita Weiss Foundation is given annually to recognize an individual in teaching/extension and/or regulatory activity in the field of apiculture. Nominations for this award are welcome from any person in the field of apiculture or may be self-nominating. Nominations shall consist of a letter documenting the achievement of excellence in any or all the areas of teaching/extension and/or regulatory activities in apiculture. Some indication of the appointment responsibilities should be included. In addition, a suitable CV or résumé documenting the activities of the nominee must be submitted. This award includes a \$500 premium.

Nominations are now being accepted for all three awards. The awards for 2018 will be presented at the annual conference of the Society at Hampton Roads Convention Center, Hampton, VA August 13-17, 2018. Nominations and letters of recommendation should be emailed to AwardNomination@easternapiculture.org and received no later than February 1, 2018.

Resubmissions from a previous year should be updated if necessary, and a new cover letter be attached which should indicate that this is a resubmission and relevant data is already in EAS possession.



EASTERN APICULTURAL SOCIETY

Previous Award Winners

2013 Christina Grozinger

2015 Ernesto Guzman, University of

2016 Heather R. Mattila, Wellesley College 2017 Ramesh R. Sagili, Oregon State

2014 Robert G. Danka

Guelph

University

Previous Award Winners		
HAMBLETON AWARD RECIPIENTS	STUDENT AWARD RECIPIENTS	
1973 Rolf Boch	1979 Mark Winston, University of Kansas*	
1974 Norman Gary	1980 Richard Nunnamaker, University of Wyoming	
1975 Basil Furgala	1981 Osman Kaftanoghu, University of California-	
1976 Walter Rothenbuhler	Davis	
1977 Samuel McGregor	1982 Alan Bolton, University of Florida	
1978 Hachiro Shimanuki	1983 Gloria de Grandi-Hoffman, Michigan State	
1979 S. Cameron Jay	1985 Gene Robinson, Cornell University*	
1980 Jonathan White	1986 Daniel Pesante, Louisiana State	
1981 Elton Herbert	1987 Robert Danka, Louisiana State	
1982 Thomas Rinderer	1988 Michael Smirle, Simon Fraser	
1983 Thomas Gochnauer	1990 Jeff Pettis, Texas A&M	
1984 Roger Morse	1991 Ken Naumann, Simon Fraser	
1985 Alfred Dietz	1992 Ernesto Guzman-Novoa, University of California-	
1986 Eric Erickson	Davis	
1987 Martha Gilliam	1993 Lilia de Guzman, Louisiana State	
1988 Robert Page	1994 Tanya Pankiw, Simon Fraser	
1990 Christine Peng	1995 Diana Sammataro, Ohio State	
1991 Anita Collins	1996 Tugrul Giray, University of Illinois, Urbana	
1992 Mark Winston	1997 Elizabeth A. Capaldi, Michigan State University	
1993 Gene Robinson	1998 Michael S. Stanghellini, North Carolina State	
1994 Thomas Seeley	University	
1995 William Wilson	2001 Paula A. Macedo. University of Nebraska	
1996 John Harbo	2002 David Schultz, University of Illinois	
1997 Walter S. Sheppard	2003 Heather Mattila, University of Guelph	
1998 Gloria DeGrandi-Hoffman	2004 Selim Dedej, University of Georgia	
1999 Gard W. Otis	2005 Lora Morandin, Simon Fraser University	
2002 Orley 'Chip' Taylor	2006 Shelley Hoover, Simon Fraser University	
2003 Marla Spivak	2007 Nick Aliano, University of Nebraska, Lincoln	
2004 Jeff Pettis	2008 Geoff Williams, Acadia University, Wolfville, Nova	
2005 Stanley Schneider	Scotia	
2006 Keith Delaplane	2009 Reed Johnson, University of Illinois	
2007 Greg Hunt	2011 Elina Lastro Niño, Pennsylvania State University	
2008 Zachary Huang	2014 Daniel Borges, University of Guelph, Ontario	
2010 David Tarpy	2015 Andony Melathopoulos, Dalhousie University,	
2011 Jay Evans	Halifax, NS	
2012 Lilia DeGuzman	2016 Cameron Jasper, University of California, Davis	
0010 01 : .: 0 :	001611 11 14 11 14 11 11 11 11	

University of Maryland

2016 Honorable Mention Megan E. McConnell

2017 Michael L. Smith, Cornell University



EASTERN APICULTURAL SOCIETY

ROGER A. MORSE TEACHING/EXTENSION/REGULATORY AWARD

- 2000 James E. Tew, The Ohio State University
- 2001 Dewey M. Caron, University of Delaware
- 2002 Michael Burgett, Oregon State University
- 2003 Malcolm Sanford, University of Florida
- 2004 Don Dixon, Provincial Apiarist, Manitoba, Canada
- 2005 Marion Ellis, Ext. Specialist, University of Nebraska
- 2006 Tony Jadczak, Apiary Inspector, Maine
- 2007 Clarence Collison, Extension, Mississippi State
- 2008 Robert Berthold, Delaware Valley College
- 2009 William Michael Hood, Clemson University
- 2010 Dennis vanEngelsdorp, Pa Dept of Agriculture
- 2011 Maryann Frazier, Ext. Specialist, Penn State University
- 2012 Doug McRory, Provincial Apiarist, Ontario, Canada
- 2013 Don Hopkins, Apiary Inspector, North Carolina
- 2014 Roger Hoopinarner, Michigan State University
- 2015 Medhat Nasr, Edmonton, AB
- 2016 David Tarpy, North Carolina State University
- 2017 Paul G. Kelly, University of Guelph